1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

220 volt extension cord for shotmaker?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by jbmOU, Sep 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jbmOU

    jbmOU Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    601
    Is there such a thing as a 220 volt extension cord? If so would it be safe to use one with a jim stewart shotmaker pulling 20 amps?
     
  2. Brian in Oregon

    Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    25,238
    Location:
    Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    There are commercial cords, you just need to find a fully equipped hardware store.<br>
    <br>
    Or you can make your own from heavy conductor wire and put the ends on. That's what I do for extension cords for welders, though they'd be overkill for your purposes.
     
  3. ricks1

    ricks1 TS Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,545
    the 220 shot maker only pulls about 8 amps 12/3 will work for 25 feet or so rick
     
  4. phirel

    phirel TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    9,556
    12/3 wire will work fine but it sure is hard to roll up when not in use. It is usually easier to just hard wire a section of 12/3 from an existing 220 V box to another fixed box near the shot maker. If you do this, you should not wire the new box from a box that is hot like I usually do. Take your time to find the right breaker.

    Pat Ireland
     
  5. oletymer

    oletymer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    818
    Check your output at the current plug. After that check how far you need to extend. At this point you need to calculate voltage drop for the distance you need.
     
  6. goosecall

    goosecall TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    327
    jbmOU, what breaker are you using 20amp or 30 amp? If you are using 30 amp you need to reduce to 15amp. I am using my 30amp dryer Receptacle and reducing it to 15amp with fuses, and I am using 50ft 12/3 extension cord, they are much easer to roll up than so cord. I cut the ends of the cord and used a 220v plug. Jim's Stewart Shot Maker watts are 1250 for the standard model and the Black Max is 1500 watts. 10tenner
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.