1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

20 Guage AAs Red

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by hmb, Oct 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

I have been reloading Winchester 20 gauge hulls for many years. I just acquired a number of these hulls which are red in color, not the usual yellow color. The AA is in a square box, at top of hull is Western and at the bottom is Skeet, they have an 8 point crimp. Any history on these would be appreciated. HMB

2. David McMillen

David McMillen Well-Known Member

I believe the color RED was dicontinued in 1971, when the color was changed to yellow. Some people were getting mixed with 12ga. shells and dropping in a 12ga. chamber. NOT SAFE. I had a few of these and loaded very well. Just remember what gun your putting live rounds in.

David McMillen

3. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member

David M. is correct I still have some of the red ones, Federal was the first to color code their shells and it was a good change on their part, in fact it was such a good idea that all the other manufacturers soon followed suit. Ross Puls

4. Recoil Sissy

Recoil Sissy Well-Known Member

hmb:

I hunted with red Winchester 20 gauge shells as a kid. I ran across some red empties in the early 80's. They were 2 3/4" high brass Super X with a six point crimp. The cener of the crimp had a small melted spot to seal it.

The recipe I was loading in standard yellow compression formed AA hulls of the era wouldn't even come close to fitting much less crimping. I assumed it was a difference in internal volume but don't really know. I didn't have enough of the red hulls to mess with so they got pitched.

sissy

5. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member