1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1st Muzzleloader

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by capvan, Jul 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. capvan

capvan Active Member

Looking for some ideas for my first muzzleloader. I've been shooting trap and metallics for about 20 years and want to try something new. Not a smoothbore, but that may come in time. Do a lot of New England deer hunting.

capvan

2. hoffman06

hoffman06 Member

Capvan, check out any muzzleloader Thompson Center makes. They have a full line of sidelocks or inlines and are very high quality.
    Carey

3. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

I have a Browning Mountain rifle that I love dearly but they are hard to find

4. 90Tshooter

90Tshooter Member

capvan-I second the Thompson Center vote. I have a T/C Hawken and a T/C Omega. Both are great guns. If it's your first I would recommend the Omega for ease of use.

Joe

5. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

Kind of depends on your view of the sport of muzzleloading.

Are you someone who wants to get "into" the spirit of it, dress up as a mountain man in leathers, and have all the mountain man regalia, and shoot a 54 caliber Hawken flintlock replica?

Or do you want your muzleloader to perform just about as perfectly as your bolt action, and you just want to take advantage of the muzzleloader season?

Or somewhere in between.

My opinion only. Muzzleloader seasons were established to allow hunters with "primitive" firearms to get out into the field and have a little fun. I think it ought to be limited to sidelocks and iron sights. But that's just my opinion.

Technological improvements in muzzleloading rifles has made some of them virtually indistinguishable from a modern high power metallic cartridge rifle.