1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1oz. vs. 1 1/8 oz, 2 3/4 dram,#7.5 or #8 shot

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by cynergystan, Oct 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cynergystan

cynergystan TS Member

Recently read Trapshooting Is A Game of Opposites.Author says that under no circumstances should a shooter give up the 12% advantage realized by a heavier load of shot, nor use shot other than 7.5. Why then is there so much apparent joy expressed by shooters who have gone to 1oz loads and talk of going to 7/8 oz.loads? Why do so many shooters insist that there is no discernable difference between using 7.5 vs. 8? I am fairly new to this game. Is my thinking correct when I believe that everyone has an opinion, just like something else that everyone has,or should I be listening to and heeding the advice of the "experts" who write all the books on being a better trap shooter? Your counsel would be sincerely appreciated.(I just purchased several flats of 1oz., #8 shot, 2 3/4 dram; should I return it?)

2. lumper

lumper TS Member

If you listen to what everybody says you will never get anywhere on your own.

Hell no dont return it ... what did you pay for it and if it was cheap do they have anymore you can go buy? It aint the shell and it aint always the gun but a miss can almost always with a 99.9% percentage of accuracy be blamed on the shooter. Keep them and if you can get more do it now before it is to late.

The shell sounds like a Federal Top Gun or is ... just what kind are they?

3. cynergystan

cynergystan TS Member

Charles Daly, at$39.99 a flat. I understand that some stores also have a coupon that affords a $1.00 rebate on each box, but I have yet to see one.

4. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member