1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1oz. For Handicap?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by tweintraub, Jan 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tweintraub

tweintraub Member

Hello..got a question for the experts on the forum. I'm relatively new to trap shooting but I have been reloading for years. I shoot 1oz. for singles. Need your opinion on whether 1oz is suitable beyond say 20 yards. I would appreciate your advice here. I'm still shooting from the 20 yard line in registered shoots. I am shooting in a winter trap league where I have been shooting from the 24 yard line. It's a whole new world from there. Not sure a 1 oz load is suitable. Thanks for your advice. Cheers T.I.

2. Shawn

Shawn Member

You will get a ton of guys telling you about there success with 7/8's ounce and 1 ounce. But the reality is the guys who shoot good handicap are using a quality shell 1 1/8 ounce.

Giid luck

Shawn

3. 87AA

87AA TS Member

"Suitable" is very subjective. Will 1 oz work from 20+ yards? Absolutely. In FITASC we are regulated to 1 oz and I've broken some seriously long birds. However, you are handicapping yourself a bit. All things being equal (fps, recoil, pattern) I'd say shot as many pellets as you legally can.

4. pigkiller

pigkiller Member

I would shoot 1 1/8-ounce loads from the 23-yard line and back.

5. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

Why take anyone else's word for which load works best for you? Try both and you'll have first hand knowledge yourself without others influence. I've shot 1 ounce loads from the 27 and my scores didn't suffer at all. If I can break 25s from the 27, how good might they be at the 23-24? One ounce loads do lose steam though compared to full 1-1/8 ounce loads, but it isn't at the 27 yard line.

Hap