1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1911 in 9mm Recommendations

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by UpNorthMN, Feb 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UpNorthMN

UpNorthMN Active Member

I'm considering getting a full size 1911 in 9mm for range use. No interest in spending the extra $ for .45 ammo. Prefer to spend less than $1,100.

Models I'm considering include:

STI Trojan

Springfield Service

Smith and Wesson Pro Series

Any advice on other models that I should consider?

David

2. k80bking

k80bking Member

David, I've been shooting a Kimber Stainless Target II in a 9mm for about 5 years now , No major troubles ,just a fun gun to shoot. My 2nd choice would also be the Trojan. Bill

3. NMULTRARUNNER55

NMULTRARUNNER55 Member

I shot an STI 9mm at the range this week. Not sure which model it was but it was a full sized gun. I was very impressed.

Steve Nunley

Albuquerque, NM

4. g7777777

g7777777 TS Supporters TS Supporters

Modify slightly and get a Browning Hi Power- you will be glad you did and for 1100 and you can have some trigger work- and some customizing done on a used one

Regards from Iowa

Gene

5. UpNorthMN

UpNorthMN Active Member

Gene,

Would you advise a new Hi Power or one of the older ones?

David

6. kcbullets

kcbullets Member

STI Trojan

7. warpspeed

warpspeed Member

For a 1911 in 9mm, I'd go with the STI Trojan in your price range or a Dan Wesson PM9 if you can stretch it out.

8. thunder

thunder Active Member

Can't go wrong with STI

9. OldGoat

OldGoat Well-Known Member

STI Spartan...slightly less than a Trojan. Got one from Dawson Precision for about $650. Great gun/fun for the $$ Regards, Ed

10. wdan99

wdan99 TS Member