1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1187 premier trap help with recoil reduction

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Woody and my m97, Sep 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Woody and my m97

Woody and my m97 TS Member

Hi everyone, Thanks for taking the time here... I am new to TS and from what I have seen here is this is a pretty stand up forum..

OK, OK, I am returning to Shotgunning and am trying to learn Trap shooting after having a torn Rotator Cuff repaired just under 2 years. Yeah, that wonderful surgery so many of us seem to have to go through at sometime or another.
    I have been shooting my Winchester M97, yeah a shotgun with a hammer :) Ok, I finally broke down and bought a trap shotgun, a Remington 1187 Premier trap. Gas Operated :) I still need some help with the recoil though as I am trying to shoot a couple of rounds of trap a week... What is everyone doing managing recoil, and has anyone set up an 1187?

Mercury filled tubes? Gracoil systems? this is all as new to me as shooting an auto.. I am 46 years old, and live with a budget so living with in my meens is important to me. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks so much everyone,

Woody :)

2. KENENT1

KENENT1 Active Member

get a good adjustable stock,and a release trigger, use all the rest of the money you can get your hands on to shoot as many rounds as possible....1 oz. will help with the recoil.

tony

3. Ruck

Ruck Well-Known Member

Go to my website and check out the Auto-Buster system....the recoil reducer designed with the gas autoloader in mind. Thanks!

Ken Rucker

4. School Teacher

School Teacher Well-Known Member

I shoot an 11/87 Premier Trap. With 1 oz. loads at 1150 fps (my reload) or at 1180 fps (factory 2 3/4 dram 1 oz. load) recoil is very light.

Ed Ward