1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1100 vs 1100 "G3" is it worth the price?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Steve-CT, Apr 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve-CT

Steve-CT TS Member

1100 vs 1100

Has anyone shot an 1100 "G3" extensively? I'm talking about thousands of rounds.

I'm interested to know if the plating and honing of the 1100 G3 makes a difference and if it works longer than the standard 1100 I've been shooting for 26 years?

The ads sound good.

Is it really worth it?

2. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    1100 vs 1100

I'm scratching my head over the G-3. It sounds more like it's a modified 1187 than an 1100, but I haven't seen the "pressure compensated gas system" in person to compare it to the 1100 or 1187, and Remington does not have exploded parts view or photos of it with the forend removed on their website.<br>
    <br>
    In functionality, it sounds more like an upgraded 1187, but regardless, it has "improvements" in several areas.<br>
    <br>
    It sounds like it's put together with more care than most 1100's or 1187's have been getting in the last few years. I'm dubious about the need to teflon coat any internal parts. The idea behind the design was to make it loose enough so as not to require lubrication oil - just a thin film to prevent rust. The problem is the insides started getting rougher and rougher. If they were made to the same quality as older guns up through the early 1990's, they would be nearly glass smooth in the first place.<br>
    <br>