1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by trinketshooter, Jan 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trinketshooter

trinketshooter TS Member

I got an e-mail from one of the clubs that I have been shooting at for a couple of years. They wanted me to provide my social security number for a 1099 form for my winnings at their club this year. Is this a normal thing? I shot at the same club last year and I didn't receive a request for my social security number last year. They are great people and I trust them, but I have not given my number out for a long time and I don't even give my social security number to my doctors office anymore. Does anyone have experience with this? Neil

2. mixer

mixer Well-Known Member

If you won more than $600 in 2010 at that club they are required to file a 1099 on you and you are required to supply your SS#. Of course you can refuse and then you can explain your reasons to the IRS buy I don't think you want to go there.

Eric

3. Dickgshot

Dickgshot Well-Known Member

There is a penalty of $50 for failing to provide your social security number to a requester who is making payments to you.

4. Dickgshot

Dickgshot Well-Known Member

You're right, the IRS doesn't care about 1099's. That's why they have a penalty of up to $250 for failing to provide a 1099 to a payee. Then, of course, the IRS computer is programmed to look at your return for a 1099 submitted under your Social Security number. If it's not there, they send you a bill for the tax.