1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1 oz wad for new Fiocchi hulls

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by yakimaman, May 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yakimaman

yakimaman Well-Known Member

Have ended up witn 500 new,primed Fiocchi 12 ga hulls - I'm fairly new to reloading and now find these hulls are straight wall and I'll need a bit wider wad to seal the powder. Anyone using these? Ballistic Products will sell me load data and a VP05 wad - any other recommendations?

2. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member

Check Alliant and Hodgdon. They both have loads for these hulls. I usually use the Federal 12S0 and 12S3, but data has been limited. There are many other combinations listed. VP05 wads are decent, from what I've seen.

3. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

What powder are you gonna use? No need to buy load data. If you use Alliant powders you can simply go to their site and get data for free. I use Green Dot and there are several 1 oz wads that will work with it. Just as an example these wads below are all 1 oz to be used with your hull and Alliants Green Dot.

WAA12SL

Jammer XL-1

TGT12

12S0

Purple PC

4. yakimaman

yakimaman Well-Known Member

grntitan: I saw those recommendations, as I also use Green Dot. But the Purple PC has been out of production and a 1.125oz load from the same Alliant Guide shows using a WAA12 wad - that's what I'm using in AA hulls and it sure doesn't work in the Fiocchi. Wad is under diameter - powder migration up the sides and and crater in the crimp deep enough to drink coffee from. Feel I'm going to end up with 500 wads here, 500 there, until I find one that works. Buying these hulls seemed like a good idea but maybe I should have just switched my AA loads instead of going to a new hull.