1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1 oz red dot recipe

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by nrasmus, Mar 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nrasmus

nrasmus Member

Looking for some help guys, thank you in advance for all of it!!

I recently started shooting skeet and would like to try some 1 oz loads. I now reload 1 1/8 oz hevy handicaps (1275fps) and they shoot well at skeet but would like to try a 1 oz load of #9's. I have a few pounds of red dot I would like to use up and I normally shot Win 209 primers. I also have about 1,000 once fired fiocchi hulls I want to put this in if possible otherwise I can put it in my standard STS hulls. My current wad is a rem fig 8, but I would like to ry something made by downrange like the 1 oz windjammer maybe. Does anybody have a good 1 oz load of red dot that would work well with skeet go into a fiocchi hull and get over 1200 fps? All my fiocchi data says use a FIO 616 can I use that recipe and just substitute a win 209? Wanted to ask the experts before I blow something up.

Thanks for the help
    Nick

2. RogerNRA

RogerNRA TS Member

Nick, You may have a problem useing Winchester primers after Fiocchi primers. The Fiocchi is a tad larger in diameter and could result in loose primers. Also, A good rule of thumb when reloading Is, "If you aren't sure of pressure related factors, back the powder off a grain or two"..........Roger

3. dbart1948

dbart1948 Member

Nick:

The best advice that I can give you is to contact the various powder manufactors or visit their webb sites to obtain published data concerning reloads and components. This may sound very basic, but by all means use a good scale to check your powder drops.