1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

1 OZ 8s for Both Doubles ?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by ljutic73, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ljutic73

ljutic73 Well-Known Member

I use Win. 1oz 8's for both shots...works like a damn when I'm doin' my part.

2. Andy44

Andy44 Active Member

I use 7/8oz of #9s for my 1st shot, and either 1oz of 8s or 1 1/8oz of 7 1/2s for the second, depending on conditions.

AndyH

3. shannon391

shannon391 Active Member

I don't think the shells were the key, think back on what else you did right,then repeat as necessary.

4. Otter

Otter TS Member

I recently ran a 99 and a 97 in doubles with Estates 1 oz #8. I started shooting 1 oz on both shots early in 2008. My average is up 10 birds over a 5 month period.

Luxor

5. Pocatello

Pocatello Active Member

I don't consider myself a high-scoring doubles shooter (88% this year on 2100 ATA doubles), but I do use 1 oz of #8 on both almost all of the time.

6. Dennisw

Dennisw Member

I have used 1 ounce of 8s' for singles and BOTH shots of Doubles for several years now. The same load, this years dbls ave was 96.39, last year at 96.60, this years singles at 98.82.

I know my aerages went up when I started using 1 ounce loads several years ago, especially on dbls, less recoil, allows you to stay in the gun more.

Dennis Whitlock

7. Dove Commander

Dove Commander TS Member

1oz #8 Estates are a great shell.

8. Sam (ATA Noobie)

Sam (ATA Noobie) Member

I use 1oz'ers for the first shot only, 1 1/8 for the second.

However, I think I'll be switching to 7/8oz for first shot. My mist birds, 99% of the time, are cause by the gun moving in my shoulder caused by first-shot recoil. It causes me to shoot over the second bird.

9. 391 shooter